Top 5 Senators who lost the 2019 general election

The results for the 2019 gubernatorial election is gradually popping up with lots of surprising result. While some were winning getting ready to join the red chamber, others are packing up to leave the red chamber by May 29th, 2019. Here are top five senators who lost in the 2019 general election

1. Bukola Saraki

Senator Bukola Saraki is the senate president and the senator representing Kwara Central Constituency. Senator Saraki became one of the major casualties of the 2019 General election after loosing to APC’s Dr Ibrahim Oloriegbe. Senator Saraki defected from the All Progressive Congress (APC) to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to run for president but picked up a senatorial ticket after loosing to Atiku Abubakar in the primary election.

2. Godswill Akpabio

Senator Godswill Akpabio was a former governor of Akwa Ibom State and the senator representing Akwa Ibom West. Senator Akpabio lost to the PDP senatorial candidate and former Deputy Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Christopher Ekpenyong. Senator Akpabio was a minority leader but however resigned as the minority leader and defected to the All Progressive Congress (APC) where he picked a nomination form to run for senate.

3. Shehu Sani

Senator Shehu Sani was one of the most active senators of the 8th National Assembly. He was the senator representing Kaduna Central. Senator Shehu Sani lost to the APC candidate Uba Sani, a former aide to governor Nasir El-Rufai. Senator Shehu Sani was a senator under the All Progressive Congress (APC) but defected to Peoples Redemption Party( PRP) after he lost in the APC primaries.

4. Binta Masi Garba

Binta Masi Garba is the only female senator for the North. She was representing Adamawa North before she lost to Ishaku Cliff of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). Binta Masi ran under the platform of the All Progressive Congress (APC)

5. Andy Uba

Senator Andy Uba was a senator of the All Progressive Congress (APC) representing Anambra South Senatorial district. Andy Uba lost to Ifeanyi Ubah of the Young Progressive Party (YPP) making him the first senator ever to be elected in YPP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *